CEPP’s team is headed by Professor Zoltan Acs and is comprised of 7 GMU Faculty Associates, 10 Associated Researchers from Universities located in the US, UK, The Netherlands and Sweden.

CEPP has a close working relationship with 10 Affiliated Institutions representing key universities, thinktanks and research institutions located in the US and abroad.

Faculty Associates at George Mason University
Research Associates

Zoltan Acs

Zoltan Acs, Director

Zoltan J. Acs is University Professor and Director of the Center for Entrepreneurship and Public Policy (CEPP) at the Schar School of Policy and Government at George Mason University and former Chief Economist at the Office of Advocacy, U.S. Small Business Administration and a visiting professor at Imperial College London. Previously he was a Research Scholar at the Max Planck Institute for Economics in Jena, Germany, and Scholar-in-Residence at the Kauffman Foundation. He is coeditor and founder of Small Business Economics, the leading entrepreneurship and small business publication in the world. Dr. Acs is an advocate for the importance of entrepreneurship in economic development. He received the 2001 International Award for Entrepreneurship and Small Business Research. He is on the board of the Global Entrepreneurship Monitor, The World Entrepreneurship Forum and the Swedish Foundation for Small Business. Edward Elgar Publisher published his most recent book the Global Entrepreneurship and Development Index (GEDI) in 2010 (co-authored with Lazslo Szerb).

Faculty Associates at George Mason University

  • David Hart, Professor & Director, Center for Science and Technology Policy
  • Phil Auerswald, Associate Professor
  • Roger Stough, Vice President for Research – Songdo Campus and Economic Development, Office of the Provost and University Professor
  • Kingsley Haynes, Professor of Public Policy
  • Jack A. Goldstone, Professor & Director, Center for Global Policy
  • Connie McNeely,  Associate Professor of Public Policy & Co-Director, Center for Science and Technology Policy

Research Associates

  • Erkko Autio, Professor Imperial College London Business School and the Research Director of GEDI
  • Laszlo Szerb, Professor, Faculty of Business, University of Pecs, Hungary and GEDI co-founder


  • Sharon Alvarez,  Associate Professor, Management & Human Resources, Fisher College of Business, Ohio State University
  • David Audretsch Professor & Director of the Institute for Development Strategies and Ameritech Chair of Economic Development at Indiana University
  • Niels Bosma, Post-doctoral Researcher, University of Utrecht & Research Director, GEM
  • Samee Desai, Assistant Professor & Associate Director of the Institute for Development Strategies at Indiana University
  • Saul Estrin, Professor of Management & Department Head, London School of Economics
  • Magnus Henreckson, Professor, Department of Economics, Stockholm School of Economics
  • Siri Terjesen, Assistant Professor in the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University & Visiting Research Fellow, Max Planck Institute of Economics in Jena, Germany
  • Roy Thurik, Professor of Entrepreneurship and Economics, Erasmus University, Rotterdam
  • Robert Wuebker, Post Doctoral Fellow, University of Utah
  • Mirjam van Praag, Professor & Founding Academic Director of  the Amsterdam Center for Entrepreneurship (ACE), University of Amsterdam